CENTRAL SOUTHERN CLASSIC FLYING CLUB



Annual Dinner & Prize Presentation

The Hallmark Hotel, Bournemouth was the new venue for the Classic's 38th Annual Dinner and Prize Presentation on Saturday 19th October. It's amazing how quickly these presentations descend on us each year. It was only four weeks ago that racing for some of us had stopped. It was lovely to see so many prize winners attending with 67 cups and trophies being given out. Presenting the much deserved prizes were our special guests Nettie Richards and Tracy Nicholls (the better halves of Steve Richards and Tim Jones) who carried out their duties perfectly. The Committee would like to thank Steve and the British Homing World for their sponsorship also Tim and A.E James & Son for donating all the corn for our races.

After our four course meal and once the plates were cleared away and coffee was served it was time for the formalities to begin. Our Master of Ceremonies for the evening was Roy Christopher who as usual did a splendid job. Roy is an asset to the Classic and worth his weight in Gold. First up, Roy handed over to Chairman Anner Smith who introduced our guests and thanked some of our Sponsors who were present. All the Classic's sponsors are important to the Club and we are very grateful for your continued support.

Next up was Kevin White who gave a brief account of 2013. This season 44 new members joined us. He thanked all our Marking Station I/C's Roy Christopher, Barrie Smith, Alen Gibb, Clive Merrills and Eamon Kelly who made sure there was transport available at Steventon and Robbie Jones for his Frome to Southampton crate delivery. Kevin went on to thank Nigel Rigiani and Anner Smith for a job well done. He ended with our Annual Late Bred Sale which made a total of £3130.

Alan Holdaway the Tarbes Blue Riband winner responded on behalf of all the prize winners with a few words then it was time for Nettie and Tracy to present the cups and trophies. At the end of the main presentation the President and Chairman called upon two very special Committee members Roy Christopher and Stan Dangerfield to award them both with a decanter for outstanding and dedicated long service to the Classic. Roy and Stan have been with the Classic from the beginning and are still very active on the Committee. They are always on hand to ask advice or are just willing to listen.

In between the dancing there were two separate raffles taking place. The first was the usual prize raffle and the second was for another Bespoke Bird Bath made from Portland Stone donated to the Classic by Kevin White. The Portland Stone itself was given by Tony Porter of Albion Stone who is the Managing Director and also a member of the Classic. The beautiful stone work was sculptured by Damien Briggs who works with Kevin White at Albion Stone and is a very talented stonemason. Both raffles were expertly organised by Chris White, ably assisted by Anne Hooper and roped in to help were Anne's Daughters Jane and Louise who every year do a marvellous job. Both raffles together made a total of £541.

One of the highlights to the evening is when the Classic's very own entertainer and auctioneer Tony Cowan takes to the stage with his own enjoyable contribution to the evening. We also held a Mini Auction with birds donated by our Tarbes winner Alan Holdaway, Bergerac winners Chris Howse and David Parsons, Bob Fenech, Mannor Lofts and Jason Ross which made a total of £870. Thank you to all the donors for your support.

I hope everyone enjoyed themselves and hopefully we will see all the 2014 winners at the 2014 Dinner.

Clare Norman.

The Prize Winners



Steve Slade Guernsey OB NW Section Winner



Mark and Julie Gower Guernsey OB SW Section Winners



Steve and Paul Kulpa Guernsey OB NE Section Winners



Brian Milkins Messac Winner



Stuart Wilcox Messac Runner Up



Johnny Attrill Messac SE Section Winner



Garth Wile and Stephen Lias Messac Yearling Derby Winners



Chris Howse and David Parsons Bergerac Winners



Kenny Land Bergerac Runner Up and SW Section Winner



Eddie Rann Bergerac SE Section Winner



Steve and Yvette Harris Bergerac. The Malcolm Squibb Memorial Trophy and The Wessex Charity Cup



Tony Leggatt Bergerac. The Bunney and Taylor Trophy



Steve and Yvette Harris Guernsey YB Winners



Steve Slade Guernsey YB NW Section Winner



Tony Stephens Guernsey YB SW Section Winner



Barry and Win Timberlake Guernsey OH NW Section Winners



Steve and Paul Kulpa Guernsey OH NE Section Winners



Robbie Hooper Guernsey OH SW Section Winner



Richie Thomas The Pam Bainton Cup, The Lockmaster Trophy and The Ace Fancier Trophy



Tony Cottrell, Ollie and Martin Richmond The Ron Michieson Memorial Shield and The Ken Griffiths Memorial Shield



Nick and Christine Smith The Whirlwind Trophy, The Convoyers Cup and The SW OB Avergage Cup



Phil Allen The Gloucestershire OB Average Cup



Mark and Julie Gower SW 3 bird Average Young Bird Cup



Andy Parsons The OB Champion Plate



Sid and Val Miles Tarbes Runners Up and NW Section Trophy Winners



Nick and Christine Smith Tarbes NW Section Winners



Brian and Linda Dixon Tarbes NE Section Winners



Phil Allen The C Churchill Trophy



Tony Cottrell, Ollie and Martin Richmond The W Bainton Trophy



Andy Parsons the Speedbird Challenge Trophy



Tony Leggatt The Hopper Brothers Shield And The Blue Riband Certificate



Alan Holdaway Tarbes Winner



The Race Winners



Stan Dangerfield and Roy Christopher