CENTRAL SOUTHERN CLASSIC FLYING CLUB



Annual Dinner & Prize Presentation

A lovely weekend between Friday 21st and Sunday 23rd October was had by all as the Classic rounded off the season with the Annual Dinner and Prize Presentation on the Saturday evening.

The Marsham Court Hotel, Bournemouth was once again our venue and you cannot beat this Hotel on the lovely hospitality and superb home cooked food.

Our special guests included Steve and Nettie Richards, where Steve doubles as a photographer for the evening as well, which we are very grateful. (Thank you Steve). Steve Jones from Countrywide Feeds and his partner Sylviane who for many years now have sponsored the corn for all the races. On behalf of the Committee I would like to thank you for your support of the Classic and I hope you enjoyed the weekend.

Some of our sponsors were unable to be with us but are always in our thoughts on the evening Brian and Viv Wall from GEM Supplements and Keith Thomas who is my guardian angel if anything is likely to go wrong with the website.

Lastly, one person who needs no introduction Tony Cowan our resident auctioneer and entertainment and his long suffering wife Maria. Tony does a grand job for the Classic and his contribution helps keep the Classic on a good financial footing.

Master of Ceremonies was our very hard working Vice President Roy Christopher. Roy began by introducing our Chairman Clive Merrills. Clive welcomed our guests and thanked everyone who has supported the Classic this season. Our President Anner Smith gave a brief account of 2016 and mentioned some of the race winners who were present on the night. Tony Cowan kindly responded on behalf of Pip Hughes the Pau "Blue Riband" Winner with a few words.



Kevin and Christine White



Reg Hughes



Phil Newton



The Race Winners



Bob and Wendy Hill



Chris and Jayne Howse







Terry Cozens





John and Sally Mauger



Bryan Woods



Andy Parsons



Rod and Angela Berry



Linda Harris



Ted Harris



Ivan Mills



Clive and Jill Rogers



Sunny Legg



Dave Waterhouse



Pip Hughes and Reg



Coutances OB Race flown Saturday 7th May 2016

G & C Cooper (NW869) – Rennes Cup, Reg Heynes & Son Trophy, NW Section Trophy, a replica and a framed photograph of the winning pigeon.

C & J Rogers & N Sales (NW570) – Runner Up Trophy and replica.

M R Staddon (SW133) – SW Section Trophy and replica.

P Kenny (NE1344) – NE Section Trophy and replica and the Cotswold Trophy.

Berry & Matthews (SE363) – SE Section Trophy and replica.

Fougeres Race flown Saturday 28th May 2016.

K & C White (SW629) – The Nantes Cup, Reg & Rene Heynes Memorial Trophy, SW Section Trophy, a replica and a framed photograph of the winning pigeon.

B Woods (SW653) – The Runners Up Trophy and replica.

J Attrill (SE405) - SE Section Trophy and replica

P Weems (NW266) – NW Section Trophy and replica.

G & M Seagroatt (NE240) – NE Section Trophy and replica.

Fougeres Yearling Derby winner

J Wilcox (NW489) Wins the Yearling Rose Bowl.

Charity Cup Winners.

- 1. K & C White (SW629) Charity Cup.
- 2. B Woods (SW653) Charity Cup.
- 3. J Wilcox (NW489) Charity Cup.

Pau Race flown Friday 24th June 2016

P Hughes (SE1683) – The Gordon Richards Trophy, The Major Buckingham Memorial Trophy, The Presidents Blue Riband, The Truckline Ferries Trophy, SE Section Trophy, The Hopper Brothers Shield (best 2 bird average), a replica and a photograph of the winning pigeon.

M/M R Kerr (NW7) - The NW Section Trophy and replica, Messrs Fear, Fear, Payne, Hunt and Robson Trophy, The Mrs V Wright Memorial Trophy (leading hen NW Section), The C Lowe Trophy (longest flying bird on winning day) and The C Churchill Trophy (best velocity in to Gloucestershire).

R Harbour (SE162) – The Runner Up Trophy and replica, The Frank Roome & Roy Reed Memorial Trophy (highest velocity onto the Isle of Wight).

A Parsons (SW938) – SW Section Trophy and replica, The Mr Fry Trophy (winner of SW Section) and The Speedbird Challenge Trophy (best 3 bird average).

M/M J F Mauger (NE183) – The M A Smith Trophy, NE Section Trophy and replica.

T Swain (SW543) – The W Bainton Trophy (highest velocity into Dorset).

P Newton (NW1482) – The Mr Dodd Trophy (highest velocity into Somerset).

A Stephens (SW516) – The R King Memorial Trophy (highest velocity into Parkstone).

J Rodway (NW1707) – The Bill Daniels Silver Salver (best velocity over 600 miles).

M/M B Dixon (NE396) – The Oxfordshire Trophy (best velocity in to Oxfordshire).

M Moon (SE188) – The Mr Bundy Trophy (1st yearling in to Hampshire).

Newman & Sevier (SW166) – The Chris Catterall Trophy (best average same pigeon Messac & Pau).

Bergerac Race flown on 15th July 2016.

P Kenny (NE1344) – Open Cup and replica, The Jack Edwards Memorial Trophy, NE Section Trophy, a framed photograph of the winning pigeon. The Maria Stowell Trophy and the Oxfordshire Trophy.

Sherman & Wells (NE304) - The Runner Up Trophy and replica.

C & J Howse & D Parsons (NW1068) – NW Section Trophy and replica.

I Mills (SW1380) – SW Section Trophy and replica, The Dorset Trophy.

E Harris (SE70) – SE Section Trophy & Replica and The Malcolm Squibb Memorial Trophy.

D Spencer (SE118) - The Bunney & Taylor Trophy (best two bird average Hampshire).

G E Rann (SE620) - The Frank Attrill Memorial Trophy and The Denis Broom Trophy.

M R Staddon (SW133) – The Somerset Trophy.

Charity Cup Winners.

- 1. P Kenny (NE1344) Charity Cup.
- 2. E Mellis (SE190) Charity Cup.
- 3. Mrs J Mills (SW397) Charity Cup.

Guernsey YB & OH Race flown on 22nd August 2016.

Young Birds

M/M D Waterhouse (SE310) - The Champion Young Bird Trophy, The Arthur Crocombe YB Challenge Cup, SE Section Trophy and a framed photograph of the winning pigeon.

R J Lowe (NE621) - NE Section Trophy and Replica.

R Thomas (SE937) – Runner Up Trophy and replica.

G Clift (Loft 2) – NW Section Trophy and replica.

A Harp (SW353) - SW Section Trophy and replica and the Mr & Mrs Whitbread Trophy.

J May & Son (SE202) - The Tony Jurd Trophy (best 3 bird average).

L & M Dyer (SE27) - Mr & Mrs Cooke Trophy (highest velocity on to the IOW).

T Cozens (NE384) - The Hospital Cup.

L Hall (NE1717) - the Oxfordshire Trophy (highest velocity in to Oxfordshire).

Old Hens

K & S Legg & Son (SE368) – Patrick Bros Old Hens Trophy and replica.

M/M R J Hill & Dtr (NW1477) – NW Section Trophy and replica.

A Harp (SW353) – SW Section Trophy and replica.

S & P Kulpa (NE410) – NE Section Trophy and replica.

Average Trophies

M/M C Merrills (NE1156) – The Whirlwind Trophy and the NE Old Bird Average Trophy.

M/M S Harris & Dtr (SE129) - The Ron Mitchieson Trophy.

M R Staddon (SW133) - the Peter Bennett OB Points Plate.

A Parsons (SW938) - The Ken Griffiths Memorial Shield, The Convoyers Cup, The SW Old Bird Average Cup.

L Patterons (SE1734) - The Pam Bainton Cup, The Ace Fancier Trophy & The Lockmaster Trophy.

P Hughes (SE1683) - The Fair Reward Trophy.

The presentation of cups and trophies was finished off by the presenting of the flowers for our President and Chairman's wives and our guests and I would like to thank the Committee for my kind gift.

Whilst the band took a much deserved break Tony Cowan auctioned off the top quality birds donated to our Mini Auction by Jackie Traynor, James & Peter Parker, Bob Fenech, Pip Hughes and Paul Kenny. The money raised was £730. Thank you to you all.

Moving on from the Mini Auction we went straight into the raffle which was organised by my two right hand ladies Chris White and Anne Hooper who do a wonderful job of selling the raflle tickets making a total of £370. My special thanks to Chris and Anne who make my job so much easier on the day.

Best wishes to you all for next season.

Clare Norman.