CENTRAL SOUTHERN CLASSIC FLYING CLUB



Annual Dinner & Prize Presentation

Thank you to all the members and their guests who travelled far and wide to make our dinner and prize presentation an enjoyable evening over the weekend of Saturday 26th October in Bournemouth to collect their awards at the Classic's 44th Annual Banquet. It was lovely to see so many old faces who we haven't seen for a while.

Apologies for the long delay in between the courses of our meal, the service is not normally like this and was due to the Hotel being let down by their staff at the last minute. After the meal and formalities were over with it was time to continue with the main reason for being there, the awards presentation.

Mr Robbie Hooper our Master of Ceremonies took charge of the proceedings for the evening and did a wonderful job.



Danny Lanahan



Luke and Les Cross



John Staddon

Coutances OB Race flown on Sunday 5th May 2019

D Lanahan (SW274) – Rennes Cup, Reg Heynes & Son Trophy, SW Section Trophy, a replica and a framed photograph of the winning pigeon.

D & J Staddon (SW271) - Runner Up Trophy and replica.

C & J Howse (NW1068) – NW Section Trophy and replica.

Luke & Les Cross (SE888) – SE Section Trophy and replica.

S Hughes (NE348) – NE Section Trophy and replica.



Vincent McConnell



Mick Skidmore



Stuart Luff, Phil and Steve Walker



Pat Harris

Messac Race flown Saturday 25th May 2019

R & V McConnell (SW179) – The Nantes Cup, Reg & Rene Heynes Memorial Trophy, SW Section Trophy, a replica and a framed photograph of the winning pigeon.

M Skidmore (SE220) – The Runners Up Trophy, SE Section Trophy and replica.

Luff & Walker Bros (NW141) - NW Section Trophy and replica.

S & D Abery (NE237) – NE Section Trophy and replica.

W Edwards & P Harris (SE544) – The Charity Cup.



Tony and Sue Cooke



Robbie Hooper



Janet Wilcox



Trevor Willis

Bergerac Race flown 12th July 2019

M/M A Cooke (NE126) – Open Cup and replica, The Jack Edwards Memorial Trophy, NE Section Trophy, a framed photograph of the winning pigeon, The Oxfordshire Trophy and The Maria Stowell Trophy.

M/M S Wiggins (SW505) - The Runner Up Trophy and replica, The Malcolm Squibb Memorial Trophy.

J Raeburn (NW55) - NW Section Trophy and replica.

M/M M Gower (SW1071) - SW Section Trophy and replica.

 $R\ Hooper\ (SW689)$ - The Dorset Trophy.

Wearn Bros 1 & Neilson (SE784) – The SE Section Trophy and replica and The Bunney & Taylor Trophy (best two bird average Hampshire).

J & P Webber (NW337) - The Best 2 bird Average Trophy.

Mrs J Wilcox (NW489) – The Wessex Charity Cup.

T Willis (SE264) - The Denis Broom Memorial Trophy.



John Staddon



Garth Wile and Steve Lias



Gwyn and Joy Lloyd

Guernsey YB Race flown on 24th August 2019

D & J Staddon (SW271) - The Champion Young Bird Trophy, The Arthur Crocombe YB Challenge Cup, SW Section Trophy, The Mr & Mrs Whitbread Trophy and a framed photograph of the winning pigeon.

M/M G & M Wile & S Lias (NW1343) – Runner Up Trophy, NW Section Trophy and Replica. J & P Parker (NE456) – NE Section Trophy and replica.

J Attrill (SE405) – SE Section Trophy and replica

M/M G Lloyd (NW349) - The Hospital Cup.

Owen Abery (NE236) – The Harkers under 25 Trophy and The Patrons Cup.



Mike Hathway

Guernsey Old Hens Race flown 24th August 2019

M Hathway (NW224) – Patrick Bros Old Hens Trophy and NW replica medal.

G Willett & Son (SE142) – SE replica medal.

D & J Staddon (SW91) – SW replica medal.

S Hughes (NE348) – NE replica medal.



Clive Harrison



Nick Smith



Tony Emery



John and Sally Mauger



Janet and Ken Wilcox



Stuart Luff, Phil and Steve Walker



John Staddon

Average Trophies

Mrs J Wilcox (NW489) – The Whirlwind Trophy.

Wearn Bros 1 & Neilson (SE784) - The Ron Mitchieson Trophy.

Luff & Walker Bros (**NW141**) – The Pam Bainton Cup, The Gloucestershire Old Bird Average Cup, The John James Trophy and The Ace Fancier Trophy.

C Harrison (SW1549) - The Ken Griffiths Memorial Shield and The John Fisher Memorial Trophy.

M/M N Smith (SW1011) - The Convoyers Cup.

T F Emery (NW130) - The Chris Catterall Trophy (best average same pigeon Messac & Pau). **D & J Staddon (SW271)** – The Fair Reward Trophy (best average young birds and old hens race).

M/M J Mauger (NE183) – The NE Old Bird Average Trophy.



Brian Young "Blue Riband" Certificate Winner

Blue Riband Certificate Winners

Same pigeon timed 3 times or more from Pau/ Tarbes appearing in the Top 100 of the result. **B & D Young** with GB13A37259

Tarbes 22^{nd} June $2019 - 29^{th}$ Open flying 527m 1402y, vel 755.918 303 birds **Tarbes** 23^{rd} June $2018 - 37^{th}$ Open flying 527m 1402y, vel 338.822 329 birds **Pau** 17^{th} June $2017 - 24^{th}$ Open flying 516m 600y, vel 533.664 507 birds

B & M Wiggins with GB15P28900

Tarbes 22nd June 2019 – 55th Open flying 529m 656y, vel 445.078 303 birds **Tarbes** 23rd June 2018 – 21st Open flying 529m 656y, vel 554.284 329 birds **Pau** 17th June 2017 – 25th Open flying 519m 659y, vel 527.786 507 birds



Luke and Les Cross "Old Bird Champion" Winners

Champion Old Bird Winners sponsored by Peter Bennett Luke & Les Cross with "Yannick"

GB17N24158 – 142 POINTS

 18^{th} Open 1^{st} Section Coutances 124m 68y - 2,113 birds - 1251 vel 42^{nd} Open Messac 209m 1306y - 1,714 birds - 1262 vel



Janet Wilcox "Blue Thunder" Winner

Blue Thunder Winner

Mrs Janet Wilcox with "Our Diamond" GB 15 N 28235 213th Coutances OB flying161m 610y, Vel 1128.24, 2,113 Birds 145th Messac flying 240m 1295y, Vel: 1185.18, 1,714 Birds 38th Tarbes flying 568m 1315y, Vel: 760.719,303 Birds 87th Bergerac flying 465m 524y, Vel: 561.548, 1,087 Birds



Stui and Pam Webb





Stewart Guy

Tarbes Race flown 22nd June 2019

S Webb (SW260) – The Gordon Richards Trophy, The Major Buckingham Memorial Trophy, The Presidents Blue Riband, The Truckline Ferries Trophy, SW Section Trophy and replica, The Mr Fry Trophy (winner of SW Section), The Mr Dodd Trophy (highest velocity in to Somerset), The Hopper Brothers Shield (best two bird average) and a photograph of the winning pigeon.

T F Emery (NW130) - The Runner Up Trophy and replica, The NW Section Trophy, Messrs Fear, Fear, Payne, Hunt and Robson Trophy, The Chris Catterall Trophy (best average same pigeon Messac & Pau) and The C Lowe Trophy (longest flying bird on winning day).

Wearn Bros 1 & Neilson (SE784) - SE Section Trophy and replica.

Mr & Mrs S Guy (NE3) - The M A Smith Trophy, NE Section Trophy and replica.

Mrs J Wilcox (NW489) - The Mrs V Wright Memorial Trophy (leading hen NW Section) and The Speedbird Challenge Trophy (best 3 bird average).

Luff & Walker Bros (**NW141**) - The C Churchill Trophy (best velocity in to Gloucestershire)

R Harbour (SE162) - The Frank Roome and Roy Reed Memorial Trophy (highest velocity on to the IOW).



The Race Winners



Janet Wilcox

We would like to express our gratitude to Clive and Wendy Merrills who very kindly donated the prizes to this evening's raffle which made £307 and also to the other members who gifted a prize.

Lastly, my thanks go to Anne Hooper and Jane Cable for helping me with the trophies and flowers, and for organising the selling of the raffle tickets and to Gill Hawthorne our photographer for the evening. With all your help it makes everything come together.

Best wishes to you all for next season.

Clare Norman.