CENTRAL SOUTHERN CLASSIC FLYING CLUB



Annual Dinner & Prize Presentation 2023

The Marsham Court Hotel, Bournemouth hosted the Classic dinner and award presentation on Saturday 21st October.

Back in the Hotseat as Master of Ceremonies was Robbie Hooper after missing out last year due to Covid. Robbie welcomed everyone and then handed the microphone over to President Clive Merrills to say grace before we sat down for our meal.

Due to only having 60 guests attending this year we were given a smaller room to use which wasn't ideal but thank you to everyone for coping in a small space.

After the dinner plates were removed Clive Merrills gave his account of racing in 2023 and thanked everyone from the marking stations to our convoyers and everyone who had worked hard for the Classic this year. Paul Basham responded on behalf of all the prize winners.

A very big thank you to Terry Peart for taking the photographs for us. Terry it is much appreciated and you do a cracking job.

My sincere thanks to Anne Hooper and Jane Cable for running the raffle and for all your help on Saturday xx.



The 2023 Race Winners



Clive Merrills



Paul Basham

Award winners from the Guernsey OB1 Race flown on Friday 5th May 2023.

J R Etherington (SE1352) – Rennes Cup, Reg Heynes & Son Trophy and SE Section Boxed Medal. K & L Cleife (SE430) - Runners Up Trophy and Runners Up Boxed Medal.

C & J Howse (NW1068) – NW Section Boxed Medal.

A Stephens (SW516) – SW Section Boxed Medal.

M/M M & C Brown (NE117) – NE Section Boxed Medal.



Jim & Sheryl Etherington



Chris & Jane Howse



Tony Stephens

Award winners from the Wakefield OB Race flown on Saturday 27th May 2023.

N Easton (SE241) – The Nantes Cup, Reg & Rene Heynes Memorial Trophy, The Runners Up Trophy and SE Section Boxed Medal.

A Stephens (SW516) – SW Section Boxed Medal.

S Staunton (NW180) - NW Section Boxed Medal.

F J Hambidge (NE205) – NE Section Boxed Medal.



Tony Stephens

Award winners from the Worksop OB Race flown on Saturday 17th June 2023.

F J Hambidge (NE205) – The Silver Plated Salver, The Runners Up and SE Section Boxed Medal.

M/M May & Son (SE107) – The SE Section Boxed Medal.

Brimble & Caldwell (NW52) - The NW Section Boxed Medal.

L Hopkins (SW148) – The NE Section Boxed Medal.



Dickie Brimble, Ashley and Mark Caldwell

Award winners from the Fougeres OB Race flown on Saturday 1st July 2023.

N T Wilson (SE228) – The Silver Plated Salver and SE Section Boxed Medal.

R Thomas (SE937) – The Runner Up Boxed Medal.

D & J Staddon (SW271) - SW Section Boxed Medal.

K Henley (NW349) - The NW Section Boxed Medal.

J & P Parker (NE456) – The NE Section Boxed Medal.



Nick Wilson

Award winners from the Bordeaux Race flown on Sunday 16th July 2023.

P Basham (SE247) - The Gordon Richards Trophy, The Major Buckingham Memorial Trophy, The Presidents Blue Riband, The Truckline Ferries Trophy, SE Section Trophy, the SE Section Medal.

Wearn Bros 1 & Neilson (SE784) – The Runner Up Trophy and Medal.

Preece Bros & Lovell (NW1745) - The C Lowe Trophy (longest flying bird on winning day).

C & J Howse (NW1068) - NW Section Medal and the Messrs Fear, Fear, Payne, Hunt and Robson Trophy. S Stokes (NE268) – The NE Section Trophy and NE Section Medal.

K Land (SW1109) - The Mr Fry Trophy, The SW Section Trophy and The SW Section Medal.



Paul Basham



Erik Neilson



Kenny Land



Chris & Jane Howse

Award winners from the Guernsey YB Race flown on Saturday 2nd September 2023.

Mr & Mrs M Gower (SW1071) - The Champion Young Bird Trophy, The Arthur Crocombe YB Challenge Cup, The Runners Up Trophy, The Mr & Mrs Whitbread Trophy and SW Section Medal.

P Weems (NW266) - The Gordon Hancock Memorial Salver and NW Section Medal.

M/M M & C Brown (NE119) - NE Section Medal.

N T Wilson (SE228) – SE Section Medal.





Mark & Julie Gower with Pat Harris



Nick Wilson

Award winners from the Guernsey AA OB Race flown on Saturday 2nd September 2023.

M/M D Beasley & L Oglesby (NE187) – The Winners Trophy and NE Section Medal.

D Fare (NW178) - NW Section Medal.

S Travers (SW91) - SW Section Medal.

M Drackett (SE177) - SE Section Medal.

YOUNG FANCIER'S ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

Awarded to **Liam & James Fisher** for their performance in the Guernsey YB race 8th & 9th Open, 7th & 8th Section. Very kindly donated by John Gerard.



Liam and James Fisher with John Gerard



Wendy Merrills



Gill Hawthorne



Anne Hooper



Jane Cable

Best wishes to you all for next season. Clare Norman.